Colourwork

I have had these beautiful yarns forever, Rennie from Scotland. My former boss bought a few shades for me when she attended a conference in Aberdeen, geez, that must have been in 2010 (!) and I ordered more shades to make a stunning fair isle knit. I never got beyond the sampling stage, because I was so preoccupied with making the most perfect jumper or vest in the world.

There is so much to consider! Not just the pattern, and the colorway, but also whether I have enough of each colour to maintain the pattern throughout the entire garment. So another question is, whether I will supplement the Rennie yarn with other odds and ends in order to make an authentic fair isle. And then the gauge! Some of these samples where knit flat, some in the round and then steeked, I used different needle sizes…

I finished a jumper yesterday, with a bit of colourwork (waiting for the photographer to return from school today to organise a photo shoot), so I have got second wind to really give it a go. Watch this space…

 

2 thoughts on “Colourwork

Leave a Reply

