Decoupling

I am not getting divorced, that is not what I mean by ‘decoupling’ at all. I just want to describe the wonderful feeling of really switching off, unplugging, decoupling from the busy life, tasks on the to do list, email etc…

i had one week off and attacked diligently and with great vigorour my long to do list. It was satisfying to tick items off and it made me feel I was a grown up and great citizen. Then came the call that the designs on my next job had not been approved yet. Another week off! First there was a sense of dread, then secret pleasure crept in. And now, I share that pleasure, for why should it remain secret?

i started by pushing the half made, by now very crumpled, curtains aside. Their completion had been my mission for this short break. I got an ancient patchwork UFO out and started playing with it for a day. Surely I had to finish it, before endulging in yet another project. but it just did’t rock my boat.

and then I started something new, with beautiful fabric, teaching me an entirely new technique of patchwork. Finally I was able to allow myself to be lost in a creative process again! Why was it so hard? What is it, that gets in the way? i just don’t know. Maybe the state of mind, in which the deep creative flow happens, scares me a bit – I shut out the outside world and everything around me becomes trivial, just for a little bit. All the ‘real stuff’ doesn’t matter, like income, family, world politics… for that short time it’s all about color, contrast, rhythm, as if my life depended on getting it right.img_7629

and when I re-appear, I feel strangely renewed, refreshed, more compassionate and truly longing to embrace the world around me. So there… I must decouple more often. It’s good for me. It must be good for you, too!

 

2 thoughts on “Decoupling

  1. Thank you for your decoupling definition. I struggle against giving in to my creativity by getting caught up in the details of my life. Yet, playing creatively is akin to spending the day wrapped in my lovers arms and as pleasurable as donning the precious gems and pearls from my private treasure chest.

Leave a Reply

