A Poncho

Ponchos do not feature in my wardrobe! They are too … Unfitted, drapy, uncontrolled… I tend to opt for the fitted little cardigan or jumper that shows of great craftsmanship and know how of fit and body shape. That’s the tailor in me… But I found some Noro yarn heavily discounted and could not walk past the glorious colors! After searching for a good (fitted!) pattern idea, a highly skilled fellow knitter pointed out that this yarn does not hold shape and wears out quickly, if the garment is too fitted.image

So I thought I should go into new territory. A poncho for my friend Karen. I started at the neck (cast on 88 stitches) and worked my way down. After 20 cm/ 4″, I increased 4 times 8 sts every 2nd row (front, back, shoulders) and then continued increasing 4 sts front and back only (2 at the front, 2 at the back), whilst increasing twice 4 sts every 4th row at the shoulders (2 x 2 sts) and then no more at the shoulders…

When it was nearly long enough, I increased front and back only 4 sts every 4th row (2 at the front, 2 at the back).

to finish the neck, I picked up 88 stitches from the inside of the neck with 1/2 size smaller needles and knitted all the way up to my cast on row. I then cast off my sts with a 3 needle cast off, incorporating the cast on sts.

For the hem, I did something similar: I picked up sts 5 rows above my final row and knitted down to the hem in slightly thinner yarn, then I did a 3 needle cast off with my new and hem stitches. I am very pleased with this neat finish.image

I am very happy with the result! I used 5mm needles and 380gr of yarn. This poncho measures 56cm/22″ from below the neck to the front/ back tip. Easy peasy.

Leave a Reply

