… and for just a moment, the world stood still…

I left work on Friday afternoon, there were a few things on my mind niggling, but nothing more than usual. Travel applications taking too long time to prepare, going through never ending references for that paper that is still in draft process… it started to rain… and I lost control of my car… and for a moment the world just stood still. I observed from a birds eye view what happened to my car (with me in it) and my jaw dropped. “I am loosing control of my car”, “I cannot regain control”, “O my, I am leaving my side of the road”, “Well, now I am on the other side of the road”, “Look at that oncoming car, I bet he won’t be able to stop before hitting me”, “no, he HAS hit me”, “Well, now I am spinning in my car”, “there is a pole, I am bound to hit it”, “I did hit the pole, thank God my car has finally stopped”.sad days for the Suzukisuzuki smashed The great news is: nobody got hurt. Major miracle. And more: Sue and Michael were with me in 15 minutes, Patrick arrived just shortly after. And while I was waiting for them, a lovely stranger stopped – young man – and just looked after me and the other driver in every way. Minor miracle. And it stopped raining while I waited for the tow truck!!! So much grass got ripped up. The car is a gonner. Smashed. Distorted. Bits fallen off. Windows smashed. Nobody got hurt. Nobody got hurt. I did not hurt anybody… I never thought what it might feel like to harm somebody with my car, by accident or due to my fault. I have started thinking how that might feel. Not nice. Very difficult to live with. I am ok. I walked to the hair dresser. I only seem to get hair cuts when disaster strikes. The last haircut I had was after getting Patrick out of hospital with the kidney stones. Left him in a morphine stupor on the couch for the kids to look after and had a hair cut… I drove to the shops to do the weekly shopping yesterday and was ok. Drove Jo to swimming today and felt fairly sick. I worked from home today. Nobody got hurt. I lost my phone. Just email me. Nobody got hurt…

8 thoughts on “… and for just a moment, the world stood still…

  1. So glad you are ok and that the other people are too. Material goods can be replaced but you can’t. Take it slowly – things like this can be quite a shock. Xx

    • Thank you for your thoughts! What makes me smile is how many people are so HAPPY for me that this is my FIRST crash ever- so that, too puts it in perspective. Pretty good record so far, but I will do an advanced driver training!

Leave a Reply

