Moving Stories

Long time no blog! It’s just been fairly mundane around here, not much to write about. Work, tidying up, throwing out, getting the kids from A to B, walkies for doggies, quotes from removalists, looking at more houses, losing a good house at auction, making more offers on other houses, keeping our spirits up, more realestate talk instead of pillow talk… you know…?

Some cheerful news: the girls did an amazing sailing course for one week at one of our lovely harbour beaches – in the afternoon of day one they were already taking themselves on their own in their little boats to other beaches! And on the last day they sailed to Balmoral for lunch. DSCN7111 DSCN7117

So, I did mention packing – eh? So “packing” is a lot about ‘sorting’ and cleaning as you go… so today I took all the quilts off the walls and washed 4 by hand, one by machine and two I left out to be taken to the dry cleaners. DSCN7134

DSCN7135

I also washed this embroidered picture that a neighbor in London made for us when we got married.DSCN7133

It looks like we will definitely be renting for some months. It means we will not set up a ‘real home’ for at least another 6 months. So, my shed will go into storage… So far, I have packed 10 boxes of books (novels philosophy), 4 boxes of sewing/ tailoring stuff, I have stuffed my yarn stash amongst the books… still heaps to go.

This is what I will keep in my old wooden trunk – my mini shed that will come into our rental home: DSCN5885set of needles, 2 knitting projects (Japanese lace twin set jacket, Patrick’s jumper) and the English Paper piecing hexagon quilt (see below). I also came across some reference books that I would really like to have at hand before I settle down into a new home (novels are on the kindl):¬† DSCN7139DSCN7142

So these books I had wanted to read for a long time, but never got around to… Let’s see if I will even touch them…

DSCN7140 DSCN7138

I am over the moon that Tim Winton’s The Turning is going to be made into a move, to be released soon. I loved the book. I must re-read it before seeing the film. I have just started reading it to my son. And yes, thought it is unlikely that I will pursue improving my drawing skills in the next year, ‘Drawing on the right side of the brain’ is one of those books that I have always wanted to work through, so it is going in the trunk…

DSCN7144 DSCN7146

And these two! Let’s hope we find a house that is not going to break the bank… and we CAN go skiing again next winter. So here we have the ‘how to ski’ book and the guide to skiing in New Zealand – I am hopeful.

DSCN7141 DSCN7143

I am tempted to leave the share trading book off the blog, so I don’t look like a nerd, but… look, I AM A NERD, I really will put it in the trunk … it’s one of those things … ongoing learning about all sorts of topics. And this lovely German animal book goes in the trunk to remind me to look after my friends every now and again, even if life gets so insanely busy… they make life good.

DSCN7147 DSCN7145

Only two knitting books go in the trunk – Complete Family Knitting Illustrated and this little Woolcraft booklet. It will be like heaven unpacking my knitting book box after a year!

Showing you where I got up to with the hexagon quilt will have to wait another day.

2 thoughts on “Moving Stories

  1. Ha! Right there with you. The packing was going pretty well until I realized that now we’re pretty much down to the garage and basement. Oy! But it does feel fantastic to sort through everything and lighten the load. Wishing you happy packing!

    • Oh – a sister in arms at my side! I am over the moon! Basement and garage packing are covered by the amazing husband… packing now seemed to be the smallest of issues… finding where to go from here turns out to be the BIGGER problem. WHERE do we go? With two dogs (who are not exactly model canine citizens) and two beehives? Stay with me, sister…

Leave a Reply

