A Stroll through The Rocks

DSCN6623For our Sunday outing we were tossing up between a bike ride in the glorious autumn sunshine or visiting the market at the Rocks. We had not been to the market in ages – so it was an unanimous decision! And to my joy, the first thing we came across, before even hitting the market, a button shop! DSCN6605And may I add for the record – I did not spend a cent! It did encourage me to finish/ renovate some items on my ‘mending pile’… asap, so I can go back and purchase just the right fastenings. Can’t wait.

The next curious event was me bumping into someone who I had worked with at Opera Australia in the costume workshop 14 years ago (and not seen since!). She is running a wonderful stall with handmade skirts and pouches. (Sorry, no photo this time).DSCN6614

There was lot’s of wonderful stuff to see, smell and hear… handspun, printed, carved, knitted… I must save up and do my Christmas shopping for overseas family soon.DSCN6620

The setting for the market is just perfect, wedged betwee sandstone walls and the water of the harbour. Old and new just co-exist in harmony. DSCN6641DSCN6643

DSCN6640A great Sunday out!

Next time we will cycle there and have the best of both worlds.DSCN6648

Leave a Reply

