The classic V-neck Men’s vest is finished!

I am so happy this is finished, not that it was a pain to knit, but it took a long time to finish. I had knitted the body in a flash and then got stuck with sampling new ideas and so forth, but what the delay really was about was I was just plain scared to do the armholes and the V-neck, because I had not done those for ages. Added bonus: the recipient is over the moon and it fits perfectly. This commission is an exact copy of a very much loved vest and the measurements are perfectly reproduced.

Let me just publicly marvel in my achievement for a moment. I am so very pleased with this, not because it is an amazing and unique design, but because in terms of knitting technique, it is most definitely reaches a very high standard (no corners cut, none!) and I wrote a pattern, a real pattern. I have not scaled it yet, I will need to make time for that. So here I pat myself on the shoulder:

  • the V-neck is such a lovely shape! I achieved that by decreasing every 2nd row and then for a small section every 4th row and then I just knitted straight
  • the V-neck has one knitted stitch before/ after the neck decrease, hence there is a line of stitches framing the V-neck
  • two stitches stayed on hold while I finished the front, I picked them up when I knitted the rib around the neck and they are the center stitches for the neck rib, lovely!
  • the decrease for the V-point was easy as – I decreased every row a stitch each side and it just sits lovely!
  • I used very small needles for the rib, 2.5mm, to keep it really firm
  • I made sure I had a good swatch which gave me the raw and the dressed gauge and I just stuck to that religiously all the way
  • I measured carefully the stitches to be picked up on the armhole and the neck by measuring 10cm sections and then picked up so many stitches per 10cm and a little less under the arms
  • my all time favorite cast off is from now on the “garter stitch cast off” – June Hemmons Hiatt’s ‘The Principle’s of Knitting’, p.90. It is time consuming, but so worth it! The cast off edge is very elastic, so the rib needs to do it’s job, no fudging by holding it in with a firm ‘normal’ chain cast off, no no no. The trick is to keep the yarn very tight as you ‘sew’ the stitches off, so the edge is firm but not tight and it has a little zig zag finish.
  • I also kept all the stitches from the back neck for the rib, and then after 4 of the 8 rows I decreased 2 st each side of the shoulder seam – the neck rib just sits so nicely
    I want one! I will get one! Soon!!! It certainly is cold enough today to need one!
Leave a Reply

