my knitting process

The way I knit is very intuitive. I have done it for nearly 40 years, so I don’t have to think much about what I am doing. In a way I tune out and get into the zone, and that makes it hard for me to follow instructions, even my own. Or to replicate something really cool.

Here is how I worked out Teddy’s jumper. I traced his shape, guessed how many stitches to cast on (I happened to be right) and then just knitted and as I knitted, I put it on top of my ‘pattern’ every now and again to check I was doing ok.

I made a little button stand at the neck, because Teddy has got a rather big neck. And I picked up the stitches for the sleeves around the armholes, because I am a little over all that sewing. The more I use the shortened row technique, the more I love it, it shapes a great sleeve head! Once you get your head around it, it is easy – and the fit is infinitely better than a straight/ square sleeve head (which is always bulging under the arm)

What is new here, is that I actually wrote down – as I went along – what I did, so now I have a real knitting pattern for any teddy jumper this size!

2 thoughts on “my knitting process

Leave a Reply

