An Old – but finished Item

Hey, look at this – a button necklace (or necklace made from buttons…?) – it has a nice story! I made it about 3 years ago for my friend Ruth, for her birthday. She expected a certain gentleman to only give her ‘boring chocolates’. So I packed the necklace into tissue paper and placed it into an old chocolate box. When she got the packet, she smiled politely and said, “Oh yeah, more chocolates” and she wouldn’t even open the box! So I said I really wanted to try some – I insisted. And when she opened the box, she loved the necklace! A year ago Ruth packed up her house, sold it and went traveling and teaching maths for an ngo in Malawi! In the process of consolidating her possessions, I fortunately ended up with this wonderful treasure. Lucky me!

We have not heard from Mr Fox… but the pirates are back on the piano, I told you they wouldn’t get far, didn’t I?

2 thoughts on “An Old – but finished Item

  1. I love the simplicity of this necklace and I would love to make it with some 12 year old children in my class. Can you tell me what you used as a base to apply the buttons onto..and are they simply sewn on or do you use another method also?
    Eva

    • Hi Eva! It is not rocket science – but I have not made it work perfectly either! I have sewn the buttons on a thin fabric ribbon and on the ribbon I have sewn a medium thick bass string – that’s why the necklace lies nicely around the neck. The trouble with the current arrangement is that some unruly buttons decide to twist now and again, so that you see the underneath of some, whilst the nice top of others. I was wandering whether I should just sew it on a wide piece of thick bias fabric to ‘force’ all buttons to stay where I want them?!? Swantje

Leave a Reply

